We are in the process of upgrading software and the SDN website will be temporarily unavailable for a few hours on Monday morning EST. Once the software is upgraded, this notice will no longer appear and the site will be back to normal. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Photo by Ed Kashi
Photo by Ed Kashi. Scene at food collection site in Montclair, NJ.

What Does the Coronavirus Pandemic Mean for Documentary Photographers

Join Ed Kashi from VII and Susan Meiselas from the Magnum Foundation (MF) in a global Zoom discussion on what the coronavirus pandemic means for documentary photographers and the world surrounding us today.

Moderated by Glenn Ruga, Social Documentary Network

Click here to view video

Friday, April 17 via Zoom and YouTube
1:00 pm Eastern Time (New York) 

10:00 am Pacific | 18:00 London | 19:00 Paris | 19:00 Johannesburg | 20:00 Jerusalem | 21:30 Tehran | 22:30 Mumbai

Ed Kashi and Susan Meiselas will discuss photography in the age of coronavirus and how it is impacting the global documentary and photojournalism community. Ed will discuss Going Viral: My Corona Diary (his daily diary of visual observations of the coronavirus) as well as volunteer work he has been doing in a local food bank. Susan will focus on how the Magnum Foundation and its extended global network is responding to the crisis. Both will discuss their thoughts on how the photography industry is coping with the challenge of documenting one of the most significant events in the past 100 years. We will then invite a conversation open to all attendees.

Presented by: 

Magnum Foundation    VII    SDN

Zoom Meeting Registration
Registration for the live Zoom meeting is now closed. If you are attending the live Zoom meeting, you will receive the link by email by noon Eastern time.

Live Stream Information
To view the event live on YouTube, visit this link

Biographies

Ed KashiEd Kashi is a critically acclaimed, award-winning photojournalist, filmmaker, speaker, and educator who, for 40 years, has dedicated himself to documenting many of the social and geopolitical issues that define our times. A sensitive eye and an intimate relationship to his subjects are signatures of his work. A member of the VII Agency since 2010, Ed has been recognized for his complex imagery and its compelling rendering of the human condition. His books include Curse of the Black Gold: 50 Years of Oil in the Niger Delta, THREE, and Witness Number 8: Photojournalisms.

 

Susan MeiselasSusan Meiselas is a documentary photographer and member of Magnum Photos since 1976. She is the author of Carnival Strippers, Nicaragua, Kurdistan: In the Shadow of History, among others. Meiselas is well known for her multi-decade documentation of human rights issues. She is presently the President of the Magnum Foundation. The Magnum Foundation is a nonprofit organization that expands creativity and diversity in documentary photography, activating new audiences and ideas through the innovative use of images. Through grantmaking and mentorship, Magnum Foundation supports a global network of social justice and human rights-focused photographers and experiments with new models for storytelling.

Glenn RugaGlenn Ruga is the Executive Editor of ZEKE magazine and founder and director of the Social Documentary Network (SDN). From 2010-2013, he was the Executive Director of the Photographic Resource Center at Boston University. From 1995-2007 he was the Director, and then President, of the Center for Balkan Development. Social Documentary Network (SDN) is a global community of documentary photographers, editors, curators, NGOs, students, journalists and others who believe in the power of visual storytelling to build understanding and appreciation for the complexities of the world today. In 2015, SDN began publishing ZEKE: The Magazine of Global Documentary.